Forward to a friend Tweet this Share this on Facebook Share:

Home | Job Postings | Volunteer


Role: Firewood splitting, yard and garden cleanup, volunteer/helper
Type: volunteer position with food & accom.
Dates: Two-three week stay anytime, especially Spring, Fall and Winter seasons
Host: SeaRose Studio | Contact
Location: Echo Bay, Broughton Archipelago, B.C., Canada

SeaRose Studio, the home, studio and gallery of Yvonne Maximchuk is located near Billy's Museum and Echo Bay on the shore of Gilford Island in British Columbia's Broughton Archipelago. A water-access only community, the nearest town is Port McNeill, Vancouver Island. We can help arrange time and travel from Port McNeill, North Vancouver Island with you, but not necessarily be able to pick you up. Plan to have  the funds needed  for tansportation, and in case it is necessary due to changes in the weather, you may need to overnight a day or two in Port McNeill.

We seek an agreeable, flexible helper (or couple) with a variety of homestead skills;  able to do the physical work of helping with a general pre-move property clean up, basic carpentry tasks with host, splitting and stacking firewood, possibly some inside tasks such as washing and/or painting walls, and various garden work, (weeding, transplanting etc. digging out the compost) for two-three week periods, particularly April-June.

We cannot stick to a precise work schedule or 'guaranteed days off'; our activities are governed by the weather and the tides and some work days are longer, up to 6 hrs, and some shorter, 2-3 hrs. If dolphins or whales go by we jump in the boat for a go-see.

Our kitchen offers fresh caught seafood, (you can help pull the crab trap) meat and chicken, fresh (in season) garden food and a plentiful mix of organic/non-organic veg. Not gluten free. We cook, you do dishes, you are welcome to take a turn cooking but it's not required. Very comfortable bedrooms and private tolet/sink bathroom, plus access to tub and shower.

A suitable place for an aspiring artist; we have two studios, a good library and are surrounded by nature. Plenty of time for interesting activities, exploring/sketching with Yvonne among the islands, possible wildlife and whale sightings, afternoon pool games, interesting neighbours. We’d love you to join our wilderness life for a time.

We are an isolated, small community with some elders we'd like to keep longer. Due to covid, we've found its a real stress-buster if our helpers are vaccinated, as we have no way for you to isolate separately upon arrival here from elsewhere. We cannot accomodate pets or children. Couples are welcome.

If interested please e-mail your resume and a covering note describing why you're interested in this role, your skills and which date range you have in mind. If you have any dietary restrictions or health issues, or allergies please be sure to mention them. Send to: 

Thanks! Yvonne and Al

Please indicate you saw this posting at

Share this on Facebook   Tweet This!  Email this to a friend   Share this on LinkedIn   Add this to Google Bookmarks   Print this page
Work-stay, home-stay, work-exchange posititions... Go Wwoofing! in Canada or worldwide...

Note: The above is provided on an "As Is" basis and for general informational purposes only. People and Planet (also known as "GoodWork") is not responsible for the content, accuracy, timeliness, completeness, legality, reliability, quality or suitability of this posting. We do not screen or endorse the organizations or individuals involved. If you decide to accept an offer of employment, volunteering or any other arrangement, you do so at your own risk and it is your responsibility to take all protective measures to guard against injury, abuse, non-payment or any other loss. Please read our full Terms & Conditions.

Current status: Open/apply now.   Date posted: Jan 3 2023    ID: 66412