Forward to a friend Tweet this Share this on Facebook Share:

Home | Job Postings

CHILD CARE / GARDE D'ENFANTS

BC family looking for Francophone Childcare/ Au Pair September 2019

Famille Canadienne/Columbie Britannique cherche aide-soignante/garde d’enfants /Au Pair Sept 2019 (le français suit)

Position: Au Pair / Child Care Provider FRANCOPHONE
Type: ~30 hrs/week, wage based on experience/training, accom. possible
Host: Private Family
Location: Victoria BC (close to downtown, quiet residential neighbourhood)

Why are we posting on GoodWork? We have often found "GoodWork" to be a community of like-minded, like-hearted people who share our values around learning about and preserving nature, spending time outdoors, and meaningfully engaging in the real world (vs. tethered to a device).

  • Do you have a genuine love for small children?
  • Are you conscientious, honest, reliable and cheerful?
  • Would you enjoy providing care in French, while also biking, hiking, exploring British Columbia’s gorgeous West Coast?
  • Would you be willing to commit to working for 4 months ** September to December 2019** in a supportive family environment?

....If so, please keep reading!

ABOUT US

We are a small family who loves outdoor activity and a healthy lifestyle. We are not francophone, but we value French and want our daughter (and whoever else shares this arrangement with us) to be exposed to French with someone who won’t make the same grammatical mistakes as her mother!

We value eating healthy food (including vegetarian) that is locally grown where possible. We enjoy laughing, biking, hiking, and spending time together. We do our best to communicate with respect and honesty, and would look for this quality in you, too.

ABOUT YOU

You might be an awesome fit for our family if you:

  • Have a genuine love for children and are keen to see them thrive in discovering their world;
  • Are conscientious, honest, reliable, cheerful, and patient;
  • Have experience (and hopefully excellent references) looking after small children;
  • Are thinking of pursuing, or have started child-focused education (e.g. childcare, early learning, teaching, paediatrics etc).
  • Are comfortable and confident spending time outside (e.g. in parks, going for walks, setting up activities outside in our garden in all kinds of weather).
  • Are in good physical condition, able to lift 20-30 lbs regularly (our daughter is not yet walking)
  • Are willing to contribute to a child-friendly atmosphere in our home.
  • Are comfortable and confident NOT being on your phone/tablet/device in front of our child.
  • Would be happy to commit to this arrangement for 4 months (to start) September to December 2019.

We require a clean criminal record check (we will reimburse this cost)

Training in Early Childhood Education (ECE) and/or Infant Toddler Education + valid First Aid certificate is highly desirable. All strong applicants will be considered.

POSITION

Work overview: Childcare would be your primary focus and responsibility for 1 to 2 toddlers (between the ages of 1 and 2 years old). Additional help with meal preparation, groceries (from the farms or local grocer), laundry etc may be requested. If you have a passion for baking, cooking, fermenting, creating with nutritious non-processed food, we will welcome you to take over our kitchen from time to time!

Total work hours each week: ~30 hours, with 2 consecutive days off each week (often Saturdays and Sundays, though sometimes the schedule might vary).

Wage: to be negotiated based on qualifications. BC minimum wage is $13.85/hr.

Childcare details: Ideally, daily activities would be 100% in French. We value outdoor play, adventure, attending social activities at the local community centre and library etc. Do you love reading? Art? Music? We’d love for you to integrate these into your daily schedule with our child/children!

Most weekends would be yours for exploring, kayaking (we live near the water), hiking, biking, learning other skills. If you are interested in fall/winter gardening and live with us in our home, you’d be welcome to help in the organic family garden. (We can grow vegetables year round here in the mild climate).

ACCOMMODATION: If you are not already living in Victoria, we may negotiate room and board as part of your position ($325/month). During the week/ while working, you would join the family upstairs. Most evenings and weekends you would have the freedom to be in your own space, coming/going as you wished. Downstairs, you would have your own bedroom; separate downstairs kitchen area, living room and bathroom are occassionally shared.

LOCATION: We live near downtown Victoria, BC, in a quiet, family-friendly neighbourhood next to the Gorge waterway for stand Up Paddle Boarding (SUPing) and kayaking. Parks and a community centre are nearby, and we are close to 2 major bike/pedestrian paths (Galloping Goose and E&N) for easy transport into town and throughout the region.

  • 12 min bike ride, 35 min walk to downtown
  • bus stops, bakery, café are just around the corner

DURATION: We are looking for someone to commit to this arrangement for 4 months to start: September to December 2019. Consistency is really important in developing a trusting relationship with children, and it will take some time for us –you and our family -- to find our best ways of working together.

Please reach out if you have any questions or would like to apply for this position:

agreystone2@gmail.com

We are looking for someone who will be a great fit with our family. If the initial 4 months work out well, there may be an opportunity for extending the arrangement (depending on commitment, qualifications etc).

We apologize, but we are often only able to respond to applications that we can move forward with.

Keywords: childcare, daycare, children, toddler, au pair


Device-free parenting & child care — resources

'Smart' phones — an uncontrolled experiment on our children?
https://psychcentral.com/lib/how-do-smartphones-affect-childhood-psychology/

Smartphones vs. child development
https://www.google.ca/search?q=effect+of+smartphones+on+child+development

12 Ways to Ensure Your Kid is More Important Than Your Phone
https://www.mother.ly/parenting/12-tips-to-help-you-put-your-phone-away-in-front-of-your-kid

TAKE ME OUTSIDE!


GARDE D'ENFANTS / AU PAIR

Famille à Victoria cherche aide-soignante/garde d’enfants / Au Pair Sept-Dec 2019 (4 mois au début)

*S'il-vous plait, soyez patient avec mon français, je ne suis pas francophone mais je fais de mon mieux ?

  • Avez-vous un amour véritable pour les enfants?
  • Êtes-vous consciencieux, honnête, fiable et gentil?

Si oui, continuez à lire!

Nous sommes une famille (anglaise-Canadienne, ne pas encore francophone) qui vit à Victoria West à la recherche pour un(e) soignant(e)/garde d’enfants francophone capable d’accueillir et de prendre soin de 1-2 enfants jeunes dans notre maison à partir de septembre 2019. Les qualifications ITE (Education Infant Toddler Educator) ou ECE/EPE (Early Childhood Education/ Éducation à la petite enfance) sont préférables, mais d’autres candidats compétents seront également considérés.

La Position:

Idéalement, les activités quotidiennes seront 100% en français. Nous apprécions les jeux / aventures en plein air au tant que possible. De plus, nous demandons que vous alliez avec l’enfant à des activités sociales au centre communautaire, bibliothèque local, etc. Aimez vous la lecture? Les arts? La musique? SVP les partagez avec nous! Volonté de nous aider avec autres tâches ménagères.

Pas de temps d'écran pendant les heures de travail devant l'enfant / les enfants, y compris l'utilisation du téléphone ou d’une tablette.

Qualifications :

Nous cherchons aide-soignante avec les attributs / qualifications suivants :

  • Quelqu’un qui a un amour sincère pour les enfants et qui veux les voir prospérer dans la découverte de leur monde.
  • Conscient, honnête, fiable, content, patient.
  • Quelqu’un qui est un bonne santé et capable de soulever 20-30 livres régulièrement
  • Au moins 2 références excellentes
  • Certificat de premiers soins (ou pouvoir l'obtenir avant de commencer la job)
  • Pas de record criminel
  • Francophone
  • Quelqu'un qui est confortable a passé du temps à l'extérieur, dans chaque type de météo (par exemple, dans les parcs, les promenades, l'organisation des activités à l'extérieur)
  • Qualifications ITE ou ECE/EPE sont préférables, mais des candidats sérieux seront considérés

L’Offre :

Travailler ~30 heures/semaine, lundi à jeudi (la plupart). C’est possible qu’il y a des heures de travail durant vendredi/ le week-end. Nous ferons de notre mieux pour travailler vos autres engagements. Logement est possible si vous n'habitez à Victoria encore ($325/mois).

Si vous avez un jeune enfant vous-mêmes ainsi que les qualifications ITE ou ECE/EPE, nous pourrions être ouverts à laisser votre jeune enfant vous accompagner au travail.

Salaire : A discuter en fonction de vos qualifications / disponibilité / engagement.

S'il vous plaît contacter nous si vous avez des questions. Nous cherchons quelqu'un qui serait un bon ajout à notre famille.

S'il vous plaît envoyer des questions à :

agreystone2@gmail.com

Merci pour votre considération !

Mots-clés: garde d'enfants, garderie, enfants, enfant jeune, aide-soignante.

When applying, please indicate that you saw this posting at GoodWork.ca.
 

Share this on Facebook   Tweet This!  Email this to a friend   Share this on LinkedIn   Add this to Google Bookmarks   Print this page

Note: This posting is provided on an "As Is" basis and for general informational purposes only. People and Planet (also known as "GoodWork") is not responsible for the content, accuracy, timeliness, completeness, legality, reliability, quality or suitability of this posting. We do not screen or endorse the organizations or individuals involved. If you decide to accept an offer of employment, volunteering or any other arrangement, you do so at your own risk and it is your responsibility to take all protective measures to guard against injury, abuse, non-payment or any other loss. Please read our full Terms & Conditions.

Current status: Open/apply now.   Date posted: Jun 12 2019    ID: 53842